At times as a means of condensing accounts and to streamline the email marketing process, Real Magnet clients may request linked accounts.  This functionality creates a Parent and Child relationship between your Real Magnet accounts in addition to combining your billing.  If you have multiple accounts and they are provisioned under the Parent/Child structure, you can upload a suppression list and have that list be applied one or more of the accounts.

A suppression is an absolute Do Not Send status in Real Magnet. Once a recipient is suppressed they will no longer receive any emails from that account. It is for this reason that reversing that suppression is a manual process.

To enable Suppression Across Accounts have your account’s admin contact Real Magnet’s Support Team to have them enable this tool in all of your linked accounts.

Permissions

Suppression Across Accounts may be managed by any user with access to the account, there are additional permissions per suppression functionality that should be enabled as well:

  • List of Suppressed Recipients
  • List Suppressed Recipients in a Group
  • Suppress Recipient
  • Upload Suppression List

Configuration

This is a one-time set-up process from the Tools page in Real Magnet. It will require a decision on how you want your suppression to be applied. Suppressions associated with the selected accounts are not instant and take place on a nightly basis across accounts, so you’ll typically want to allow for 24 hours to check the suppression status.  However, you can also choose to run the suppression manually. You have two choices:

  1. Suppression can cascade down from parent accounts to child accounts.
  1. Suppression can be shared between accounts.

To configure Suppression Across Accounts:

  1. Select Tools.
  2. Select Suppression.
  3. Select Suppression Across Accounts. 
  4. Choose either to Extend Suppression from one Account to Multiple Accounts or Share Suppression Amongst Accounts
  5. Select Go.

Extend Suppression from one Account to Multiple Accounts 

Choosing to extend the suppression will essentially cascade the suppression from a single or multiple accounts. This function follows the behavior below.  Whenever a suppression occurs in those parent accounts a recipient will be either updated or created with the same status in the (child) accounts.

  1. Login to the parent account.
  2. Select Suppression.
  3. Select Suppression Across Accounts.
  4. Select Extend Suppression from one Account to Multiple Accounts. 
  5. Select the account that should act as the parent.
  6. Select Go.
  7. In the left column select the accounts that should be impacted over to the right.
  8. Select Submit.

Share Suppression Amongst Accounts

At times the accounts should share suppressions bi-directionally choosing to share the suppression will essentially share the suppression from a single or multiple accounts. This function follows the behavior below.  Whenever a suppression occurs in the shared accounts a recipient will be either updated or created with the same status in the other accounts.

  1. Log in to one of the accounts that should share the suppression.
  2. Select Suppression.
  3. Select Suppression Across Accounts.
  4. Select Share Suppression Amongst Accounts.
  5. Enter a descriptive name for these shared accounts
  6. Select Go.
  7. In the left column select the accounts that should be impacted over to the right.
  8. Select Submit.

Managing Suppression Across Accounts

Once configuration is completed,the suppression statuses will update on a nightly basis, however, you can push the suppression at any time from the Tools page.

  1. Select Tools.
  2. Select Suppression.
  3. Select Suppression Across Accounts.

Managing Recipients Suppressed Across Accounts

If a recipient is suppressed in the controlling (parent) account, the status must first be reversed in that account and then in any subsequent accounts.  A suppression that occurs via the Suppression Across Accounts tool, regardless of the suppression reason, will always have the status: Suppressed Across Accounts.  

To view your suppressed recipients you can proceed to Tools:

  1. Select Suppression.
  2. Select Manage Suppressed Recipients.
  3. Select Suppression Across Accounts.
  4. Select Run Suppression Now.
  5. Select Go.

Troubleshooting

Below are some common problems encountered when working with Suppression Across Accounts.

I didn’t upload any suppression files to my account, why does my list have suppressed recipients listed? 

Are these system suppressions?  You can check by going to Manage Suppressed Recipients. Is Suppression Across Account enabled? You can check by going to Suppression under Tools.